21 Mar Reckless Driving in Oklahoma
Have you ever been pulled over and given a citation for reckless driving? It can be nerve-racking if you are uncertain of what that violation means. When convicted of a reckless driving offense in Oklahoma, the consequences can be very serious. There is not a certain speed that determines a reckless driving offense in Oklahoma, more so reckless driving is determined by the associating circumstances regarding driving over the speed limit, as well as operating your vehicle with no regard for the safety of others. It is best to know what this violation entails and the fitting option for your situation.
What is Reckless Driving?
Under Oklahoma law, pursuant to 47 O.S. §11-90(A), reckless driving is defined as:
It shall be deemed reckless driving for any person to drive a motor vehicle in a careless or wanton manner without regard for the safety of persons or property or in violation of the conditions outlined in Section 11-801 of this title.
Reckless driving has two (2) essential elements. First, it must be shown that the driver was driving in a “careless or wanton manner.” Second, it must be proved that the driver was driving without “regard for the safety of persons or property,” or in violation of Oklahoma’s speeding laws. Put another way, an individual who drives dangerously or violates the speed limit, and is at least negligent in doing so, can be convicted of reckless driving. The acts and conduct of the driver will be judged by an objective reasonable-and-prudent-person standard, meaning that it only needs to be shown that a reasonable and prudent person would not have behaved in such a manner.
Consequences of a Reckless Driving Conviction
In Oklahoma, a reckless driving violation can result in fines and even possibly jail time. A conviction like reckless driving could add as many as (4) points to your driving record and accumulating (10) points over a (5) year period can result in getting your license suspended. Additionally, your insurance premium may continue to rise for up to 3 years after conviction.
The first offense of reckless driving is punishable by (5) to (90) days imprisonment and/or a fine of between one hundred ($100) to five hundred ($500) dollars. A second offense is punishable by imprisonment ranging from (10) days to (6) months and/or a fine between one hundred and fifty ($150) to one thousand ($1,000) dollars. Regardless of re-offending, all persons convicted of reckless driving are required to pay a “penalty assessment” fine of one hundred and fifty-five ($155) dollars.
47 O.S. §, 11-901:
“B. Every person convicted of reckless driving shall be punished upon a first conviction by imprisonment for a period of not less than five (5) days nor more than ninety (90) days, or by a fine of not less than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00) nor more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), or by both such fine and imprisonment; on a second or subsequent conviction, punishment shall be imprisonment for not less than ten (10) days nor more than six (6) months, or by a fine of not less than One Hundred Fifty Dollars ($150.00) nor more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00), or by both such fine and imprisonment.”
You Have Options
The consequences of receiving a reckless driving conviction are severe and impactful in many factors of life. OK Traffic Ticket Defense has had immense success in defending clients in traffic-related offenses, achieving dismissals, fine reductions, and so forth. If you have received a traffic violation in Oklahoma, contact OK Traffic Ticket Defense today. Upload your traffic ticket, message us, or call us to discuss your situation at no charge.