Whether you are trying to figure out the consequences of your recent speeding ticket or simply new the state, it is important to understand the speeding ticket laws specific to your state. Oklahoma’s speeding ticket laws are similar in many ways to other states. There are, however, a few unique differences of which you should be aware of.
What should you know about speeding ticket laws in Oklahoma? There are two types of speeding ticket laws in Oklahoma known as “basic speeding law” and “absolute limits”. Penalties for speeding in Oklahoma are dependent on the type of ticket you are issued. Additionally, there are more serious consequences for reckless driving charges and repeat offenses.
Does a speeding ticket in Oklahoma harm your permanent driving record? What types of penalties accompany a speeding violation in Oklahoma? What should you do if you receive a speeding ticket in Oklahoma? In this post, we will answer these questions and more, providing you with everything you need to know about speeding ticket laws in Oklahoma.
Each state has developed a unique approach to speeding ticket laws and how closely they are enforced. When you move to a new state, you must familiarize yourself with the speeding laws that may be different than what you are accustomed to. While Oklahoma does not fall among the strictest of states when it comes to speeding ticket laws, we do enforce “Absolute Limits” in speeding.
There are two types of Oklahoma speeding laws, “basic speeding laws” and “absolute limits”. While every state in America has some form of basic speeding laws, only one-third of states enforce absolute limits. For this reason, absolute limit speeding laws often catch new Oklahomans off guard.
When you think of speeding ticket laws in various states, basic speeding law is likely what comes to mind. Basic speeding law is defined in the Oklahoma Driver’s Manual as such:
“No motor vehicle shall be driven at a speed greater than is careful and prudent and not greater than or less than is reasonable and proper, having due regard to the traffic, surface and width of the highway and of any other conditions then existing. No person shall drive any vehicle upon a highway at a speed greater than will permit him to stop within the assured clear distance ahead.”
Basic speeding law simply means that the speed at which you can safely drive is dictated by the current conditions. Although the speed limit on the interstate is 65mph, basic speeding law states that driving 65mph when the interstate is foggy or icy is not “reasonable and proper”.
In Oklahoma, you can receive a speeding ticket if you are driving in a way that is not appropriate for the weather or road conditions, if you are following too closely, or hindering other vehicles from moving at a safe speed.
Although not every state enforces absolute speed limits, Oklahoma certainly does. This means that if you are operating a vehicle at a speed greater than the listed speed limit, you violate the absolute limit speeding law. While speed limits may vary in certain cities or counties across Oklahoma, here are general guidelines for absolute speed limits in our state:
If you are exceeding the posted speed limit in any situation, even if it is “safe” for you to do so, you are in violation of the absolute limit speeding law in Oklahoma.
Violation of an Oklahoma speeding law will result in some form of penalty. The severity of your penalty or fine will depend on the amount by which you exceed the speed limit and on your past driving history.
In general, the fine for speeding in Oklahoma is as follows:
In some cases, you may also be sentenced to jail time as a penalty for your speeding ticket. For your first offense, jail time should not exceed 10 days. If you receive two speeding offenses within a year, your jail time should not exceed 20 days. You may be sentenced to up to 6 months in jail if you receive three or more speeding offenses within any given year.
It is important to note that fines and penalties double for speeding in a school zone, construction zone, or other protected areas.
In Oklahoma, the maximum penalty you can receive for violating a basic speeding law is $384.90 and/or 30 days in jail. However, these fines double when you are violating basic speeding law in a school zone or a construction zone while workers are present.
In addition to receiving fines or jail time as a penalty for your speeding violation, most drivers will also receive demerit points on their permanent driver’s record. Speeding in Oklahoma often results in 2 to 4 demerit points per violation.
If you accumulate 7 demerit points on your record, you will be required to attend a hearing with the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety. After this hearing, you may have to attend a driving course or retake your driving test. You may also be required to submit physical and mental evaluations outlining your ability to drive.
Once you accumulate 10 demerit points on your driving record, you will face an irreversible suspension of your driver’s license for a set period of time. Your period of suspension is determined by your previous suspensions and driving record. Driver’s license suspensions for speeding often last between one month to one year.
Unlike other states, no set speed limit determines reckless driving in Oklahoma. Reckless driving in Oklahoma is simply determined by the circumstances surrounding the incident. Any reckless driving traffic violation in Oklahoma is automatically categorized as a misdemeanor. To receive a reckless driving charge, the driver must violate Oklahoma’s speeding laws as well as operating their vehicle without regard for the safety of others.
Reckless driving is a serious offense and, as such, carries significant penalties. An individual’s first reckless driving offense often results in a fine up to $500 and/or jail time of up to 90 days. If the individual repeats the offense, they could receive a fine of up to $1,000 as well as up to six months in jail.
Individuals charged with reckless driving will also have a minimum of 4 demerit points added to their driving record.
Many individuals experience great confusion on how to proceed after receiving a speeding violation in Oklahoma. Some people are tempted to pay the fine to avoid an appearance in court. Others understand the lasting impact that demerit points could have on their driving record. Whatever the circumstances surrounding your traffic violation, you must reach out to an Oklahoma traffic ticket lawyer.
A speeding ticket can not only result in hefty fines, jail time, and great inconvenience but it also causes your insurance premiums to skyrocket. It is important that you avoid this at all costs! Fortunately, there are professionals who are ready to fight for you. OK Traffic Ticket Defense provides a streamlined approach to contesting your traffic ticket.
With a three-step submission process, OK Traffic Ticket Defense will begin the process of contesting your speeding violation almost immediately. Only 5% of individuals who receive speeding violations in Oklahoma contest their tickets. With an Oklahoma traffic ticket lawyer on your side, this process is much less intimidating as well as incredibly affordable!
Avoid the permanent repercussions of an Oklahoma speeding violation by contacting a traffic ticket lawyer today!
Do speeding tickets in a personal vehicle affect your CDL? Many individuals who require a CDL for their career are worried that a speeding ticket in their personal vehicle will impact their work. Other traffic violations may carry over into your CDL. However, a speeding violation in your personal vehicle should not impact your CDL eligibility in any way.
Is hiring a traffic ticket lawyer expensive? After receiving a speeding violation, you are likely trying to save as much money as possible. In many ways, a traffic ticket lawyer could actually help you save money! An experienced traffic ticket lawyer can obtain a lower fine. They can also save you from a huge jump in your insurance rates. When working with a traffic ticket lawyer, it is best to find a lawyer who offers a set rate to avoid any surprising charges or fees.